On the instructions of Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, the federal government has made the record of Toshakhana from 2002 to 2023 public by uploading 466pages document on the official website of the Cabinet Division.

The beneficiaries include former presidents, prime ministers, federal ministers and government officials.

As per the record, the names of former president Gen (retd) Pervez Musharraf, former prime ministers Shaukat Aziz, Yousuf Raza Gilani, Nawaz Sharif, Raja Parvaiz Ashraf and Imran Khan are included among the beneficiaries.  The Toshakhana records of curretn PM Shehbaz Sharif and President Arif Alvi have also been uploaded.

Tosha Khana record shows that federal ministers, senior officials and civil servants has also received gifts. Most of the gifts of low value were kept by the recipients without payment according to the law.

Until 2022, the law was to retain gifts worth less than Rs10,000 without payment.

Gifts ranging between Rs10,000 and Rs400,000 were allowed to be retained after paying 15% of their value.

Gifts valued over Rs400,000 were allowed to be retained only by the president or the head of government.

Next articlePTC Wins Four Prestigious CSR awards
Abid Saeed is a senior broadcast journalist with an extensive experience of print and electronic media with key focus on law & Justice, SDGs and youth development.